Scholarship Reception Archives

Scholarship Reception Brings Students Together with Benefactors

President Stephen J. Friedman addresses scholarship benefactors and recipients

Tuesday, October 13, 2009 marked Pace University's 19th Annual President's Scholarship Reception. This intimate reception was held in the Eddie Layton Student Union, New York City campus, where scholarship recipients had the opportunity to meet and personally thank their benefactors for the gift of a Pace education. President Stephen J. Friedman welcomed trustees, students’ parents and friends of the Pace community to this special celebration.




(l to r) Robert Caucci '11, scholarship
recipient, with benefactor Maria F. Ramirez '72,
Trustee, and President Stephen J. Friedman

(l to r) Christine M. Meola,
Vice President for Philanthropy, with benefactors
Fran Rothstein and Harris Rothstein '60

Christopher A. Edwards '95, Pace Trustee and Dyson alumnus, was this year's benefactor speaker. Mr. Edwards spoke of his personal growth experience as a Pace student and remarked how grateful he was for the scholarship support he received. His appreciation for a Pace education and desire to give back to the school that provided him with the foundation of his success, led him to establish the Edwards, Harvin and Rosenbaum Endowed Scholarship, in honor of three very important role models and mentors; and the Edwards - St. Raymond Award, to support Pace students who attended his high school.

Samuel Asbeck '10,
student speaker

Christopher A. Edwards '95, benefactor speaker


Student speaker and recipient of the Louis F. Laucirica Endowed Scholarship, Samuel Asbeck '10, shared the impact of his scholarship support. Sam faced financial and personal adversities, but because of his scholarship he has been able to focus and excel academically, while strengthening his leadership skills. The benefactor of Sam’s scholarship, Louis F. Laucirica '66, '71, was also in attendance. 
Scholarship support has a great impact on the lives of Pace students and their families. The partnership of our benefactors is vital for the University to continue supporting our most deserving and talented students. In this spirit, Christine Meola, Vice President for Philanthropy, took a moment to publicly acknowledge all the scholarship benefactors attending the event.
 The evening's program concluded with a singing quartet of male students. One of the performers, Britton Smith '12, also a scholarship recipient, made a special note of appreciation for his award, which he said makes it possible for him to enjoy the unique opportunities offered at Pace. Britton added that he will never forget the kindness of his benefactors, and joined Sam Asbeck '10 with a pledge to support the students who will follow in his footsteps at Pace.