Announcements Fall 2013

Homecoming is just around the corner! Click here to view schedules for New York City (October 17-20) and Pleasantville (October 24-26). And join us for 50 Years, 50 Faces, a celebration of the Pleasantville campus’s 50th anniversary during Homecoming on October 26! Click here for details

Andréa Sonenberg, PhD, WHNP, CNM-BC, was one of just eight nursing faculty members nationwide selected to attend the AACN (American Association of Colleges of Nursing) Faculty Policy Intensive in Washington D in March.

Robin Lynch, Mary Beth Carpiniello, Joanne Knoesel, Liz Berro, & Rebecca Sciame won the Pace Presidential STAR Award.  Through extraordinary service, creativity, & hard work, they ensured alternative clinical experiences for undergraduate nursing students during the clinical agency closures & mass transit upheaval caused by Hurricane Sandy. They are true STARs for Pace University.

Lienhard School of Nursing and College of Health Professions Dean Harriet R. Feldman, PhD, RN, FAAN, has been appointed to the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) Substantive Change Advisory Group (SCAG).  CCNE is a national accreditation agency that ensures the quality and integrity of baccalaureate, graduate, and residency programs in nursing.  Dean Feldman’s appointment to the group is effective as of January 1, 2013, and ends December 31, 2015. The SCAG is responsible for making recommendations to the CCNE Board of Commissioners regarding substantive change reports submitted by accredited programs.

Recent JFEW scholarship awardees at Pace are Debra Egloff and Laurie Bell. Debra Egloff (left) is a 1-year Accelerated BSN student on the Pleasantville campus who started the program in January 2013. Debra served as a lieutenant in the U.S. Army after completing her bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering. Her husband is still on active duty. In her scholarship application, she wrote: “the funds provided by the JFEW will enable me to fulfill my goal of becoming a nurse and to finally make the kind of positive impact that I have always been seeking.”

Laurie Bell (right) is a 2-year Accelerated BSN student on the Pleasantville campus who started the program in January 2013. Laurie’s husband served in Iraq and they have three small children.  In her scholarship application, she wrote: “I currently do not even have the funds to buy textbooks, medical equipment, or uniforms. I would be honored to be the recipient of this scholarship, as the wife of a veteran, assisting me through my studies would be a wonderful way of acknowledging all of the dedication and hard work that we Army wives provide to our husbands and the military as well.”

RN-4 students Paola Zavala (left) and Michelle Magaletti (right) received scholarships from the VNS of Westchester and were honored at the annual Women's Hall of Fame and Scholarship Awards luncheon, sponsored by the Women's Research and Education Fund.

Lucille Ferrara EdD, FNP, RN, was inducted as a fellow of the National Academies of Practice (NAP), the only interdisciplinary group of health care practitioners dedicated to addressing the problems of healthcare. NAP is a non-profit organization founded in 1981 to advise governmental bodies on our healthcare system. Distinguished practitioners and scholars are elected by their peers from ten different health professions to join.  NAP is dedicated to supporting affordable, accessible, coordinated quality healthcare for all. Membership currently includes 5 categories: Distinguished Practitioners, Distinguished Scholars, Distinguished Public Policy Fellows, Associate Members and Members Emeriti. Professor Ferrara joins her colleagues Joanne Singleton, PhD, RN; Professor Lillie Shortridge-Baggett, EdD, RN, FAAN; and Lienhard adjunct professor Eileen O’Grady, PhD, RN, NP – all NAP fellows.

Dr. Lillie Shortridge-Baggett, EdD, RN, FAAN, was recognized by ENRS (Eastern Nursing Research Society) at their 25th Annual Scientific Sessions and gala celebration. ENRS proudly honored a distinguished group of nurse researchers – including Dr. Shortridge-Baggett – who have shown sustained leadership in promoting health through nursing science. Dr. Shortridge-Baggett is a founding member and first President of ENRS.

Chihiro Shinohara, PA class of 2014, is a Nippon Life-JMSA (Japanese Medical Society of America) scholarship recipient. Shinohara is the one of the first Japanese PAs in the United States.  There are no PAs in Japan, so Shinohara will create information packets and small blurbs in Japanese promoting and explaining who and what PAs are.  Shinohara will give lectures to Japanese high school/college students who are interested in the medical field.

Pace PA students are getting published!  Benjamin Bradley, PA-S, Anne Chamani, PA-S, Daniel Hack, PA-S published an article on Compartment Syndrome in Clinician Reviews.  Stephanie Apanah, a 2011 graduate from the PA Bachelor’s program and a 2012 graduate from the Master’s Completion program and Dr. Denise Rizzolo published an article on taking a multidisciplinary approach to sickle cell disease in the August issue of JAAPA.  Dr. Jean Covino and Kayla Zappolo, Danielle DeFeo, and David Dang, PA students from the class of 2013, published an article in JAAPA on recognizing and treating childhood leukemia. Read the article here.

David Jackson has been elected as First Vice Speaker, AAPA House of Delegates. 

Michelle Melchiorre, PA class of 2014, was elected as the Northeast Regional Director for the Student Academy of the American Academy of Physician Assistants (SAAAPA) for the upcoming year.  In her new position as a regional director, Michelle will be responsible for communicating with and coordinating PA students, student societies, and PA programs in the northeast region and sharing the information with all PA students across the country in addition to mentoring our new  Assembly of Representatives (AOR, the governing body of SAAAPA) student society rep.

Keiley Indivero, a PA graduate of the class of 2013,  was presented with the opportunity to go to Haiti with her Family Care PA preceptor Nicole Pitzer under the umbrella of a non-profit organization called Stone by Stone.  This organization tries to bring quality, reliable, and consistent health care to nine villages in Haiti.  Keiley’s responsibilities while working in the clinic will include assisting the midwife who is also teaching prenatal care, and educating the people of Haiti about basic health care. 

This is a very exciting and  valuable international medical experience for Keiley.  The program is proud our students are seeking such opportunities and financially supports these missions.

Lienhard School of Nursing has been selected for the third time as a grant recipient of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) New Careers in Nursing Scholarship Program (NCIN). During the 2013-2014 academic year, Lienhard School of Nursing received $50,000 to support students in the Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing program who are underrepresented in the field of nursing and are pursuing second careers.

As part of the Professional Development Program at Overlook Medical Center in Summit, NJ, RN-4 student Deidre Emerich received a $10,000 scholarship along with an employment commitment (for one year and nine months) to work as an RN after obtaining her nursing degree and license. She was chosen out of 10 interviewees for one of three scholarships.

Jane Dolan was awarded the Outstanding Contribution Award at the Graduate Nursing Admissions Professionals (GNAP) Annual Conference.

CHP’s Lin Drury & Sharon Wexler & Seidenberg’s Jean Coppola have partnered with eCaring, a tech company that provides home health care management & monitoring for seniors & people with chronic conditions. They have been selected as winners of PILOT Health Tech NY, a new program designed to increase innovation and collaboration within NYC’s health tech sector.