Student Notes

56th Annual New York  American Chemical Society's Undergraduate Research Symposium

56th Annual New York American Chemical Society’s Undergraduate Research Symposium

William H. Nichols Distinguished Symposium

William H. Nichols Distinguished Symposium

Pictured are (front row left to right): Jen Weiser, Prof. Ellen Weiser, Prof. JaimeLee Rizzo, David Francis, ‘11; (top row left to right): Prof. Karen Caldwell, Prof. Zhaohua Dai, Prof. Robin Helburn, Neha Delal, masters student, Christina Rivera, ‘10, Nikhil Khosla, ‘10, Felix Danso, ‘08, and Prof. Sergey Kazakov (not pictured: Prof. John Sharkey and Prof. David Nabirahni).


Cielo Canola, a Masters in Public Administration student and Westchester county Michaelian Scholar, earned a $3,000 Stanley M. Schoenfeld Memorial Scholarship from the New York State Government Finance Officers’ Association.

Biology student Gabriel De Leon and Prof. Nancy Krucher presented a poster in April in San Diego at the annual meeting of the American Association for Cancer Research titled, “Stimulation of Rb-dependent and p53 Independent caspase mediated apoptosis by PNUTS siRNA in colorectal cancer cells.” The presentation described the development of a novel way to induce cancer cell suicide in cancer cells. This work was published in the journal Cancer Biology and Therapy in June 2008. Read more about their research.

Kendra Miller ‘10 and Stephanie Kuchs ‘08 were featured in an article in August issue of The Jewish Week about their Lipper internships at Museum of Jewish Heritage-A Living Memorial to the Holocaust.

Emily Ottoo, a musical theater major, appeared at the 2008 Oscars along with the group, IMPACT Repertory Theatre, a not-for-profit theater company based in Harlem. Ottoo has been a member of the company for eight years. The group performed the song “Raise it Up” from the Warner Brothers movie August Rush which was nominated for Best Original Song.

Ashley Powdar spent the spring ‘08 semester in Washington, D.C., as an intern with The Washington Center for Internships and Academic Seminars. Ashley worked for the Council on Hemispheric Affairs and had her first publication on “U.S. Presidential Candidates’ Rhetoric on Latin America.”

Physician Assistant major Suzanne Sagues ‘09 was awarded a $2,000 scholarship from the American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA). She was one of 60 students nationwide to receive the scholarship, which is awarded on the basis of financial need, academic achievement, extracurricular activities, and future goals as a physician assistant (PA). This is the second year in a row that a Pace PA student has been a recipient of this scholarship award.

Stephania Sainato won the Ruth Whitney Glamour Magazine scholarship from Women In Communications. She appeared on the Today Show and received the award at the Matrix Awards on April 7.

At The Annual Society of Fellows Induction Ceremony on May 3 the following 2008 Stephen J. Friedman Dyson Fellows were inducted: Suneel M. Agerwala, Maksim Astashinsky, Emily Brown, Bruce Caldwell, Felix Danso, Daniel Friedman, Mary M. Garcia, Shirley Idumonyi, Jessica Jones, Hyunju Jung, Matthew Koppe, Nichole LeFebvre, Veronika Nedashkovskaya, Nicole Papaioannou, Gianna Sandri, Vanessa Savino, Pamela Smith, Kimberly Sofia, Michael Staib, and Dmitriy Yermolayev.

Chemistry and Physical Sciences students presented their work at the 56th Annual New York American Chemical Society’s Undergraduate Research Symposium on May 17 at Queensborough Community College. The student presentations included Gloria Wan ‘08, “Synthesis and Investigation of Antiviral Surfaces”; Amanda Mickley ‘10, “Synthesis and Characterization of a Fluorescent Sensor for Hg(II)”; Dwight Campbell ‘09, “Rate of Photopolymerization Using a Fiber Optic UV-VIS Spectroscopy”; and Felix Danso ‘08, “Concentration of Bacterial Spores and Their Germination in Aqueous Sspensions by UV-VIS Spectroscopy”. Other Pace students who participated as student moderators are: Christina Rivera ‘10, Stacy-Ann Collins ‘08, Patrick Carney ‘10, and Sabina Vysotskaya ‘11. Prof. JaimeLee Rizzo was the keynote speaker and shared her work on “Antimicrobial and Antiviral Surfaces” to the more than 300 faculty, students, and guests in attendance. Other Pace faculty present at the symposium were Prof. Zhaohua Dai, Prof. Sergey Kazakov, and Prof. Ellen Weiser. Next year’s symposium will be held at Pace University’s Pleasantville campus on May 2, 2009.

Dyson faculty and students attended the William H. Nichols Distinguished Symposium, Medal Award Presentation & Dinner presented by the New York Section of the American Chemical Society on March 14 at Crowne Plaza Hotel in White Plains, N.Y. This year’s symposium was on “DNA: Not Merely the Secret of Life.” Pace University attendees included: Jen Weiser, Prof. Ellen Weiser, Prof. JaimeLee Rizzo, David Francis ‘11, Prof. Karen Caldwell, Prof. Zhaohua Dai, Prof. Robin Helburn, grad student Neha Delal, Christina Rivera ‘10, Nikhil Khosla ‘10, Felix Danso ‘08, Prof. Sergey Kazakov, Prof. John Sharkey, and Prof. David Nabirahni.