‘Fellows’ Class Named for Professor O’Sullivan

  Professor Thomas O'Sullivan
    The 2010 Society of Fellows Class is named in honor of the late Professor Thomas O’Sullivan.

On April 20, 2010, the Dyson College Society of Fellows inducted its newest class named in honor of the late Thomas O’Sullivan. Dr. O’Sullivan, a longtime Fellow, an Associate Professor and former Chair of the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies, passed away earlier this year. He celebrated his 20th year at Pace in 2009. The keynote panel consisted of Dr. Harold Brown, Chairperson of Dr. O’Sullivan’s department, and two of Dr. O’Sullivan’s former students, Taylor Petrey, PhD, and Michal Klincewicz, PhD candidate at the CUNY Graduate Center. They spoke on friendship as discussed and understood by St. Augustine, Aristotle, and Cicero.

The newly inducted associate fellows are: Melissa Abate, Razia Amzad, Jessica Bowe, Sophia Burdett, Matthew Chiarello, Sin Yung Choy, Gila Eban, Brittney James, Vadim Kats, Brandon Lentine, Ariel Love, Poonam Nagda, Ahmed Nassef, Faiza Sheikh, Neila Smith-Dorfman, Keira Stewart and Erica Yuen.

The newly inducted fellows are: Jeffrey LeFrancois, Joseph Morreale, PhD, Judith Pajo, PhD, John Ponessa, Neelofer Qadir, Adam Reichardt, Richard Schlesinger, PhD, Moshen Shiri-Garakani, PhD, and Daniel Strahs, PhD.

  Nira Herrmann, PhD, Dean of Dyson College congratulates, the newest class to join the Society of Fellows.  

At the annual induction ceremony a number of awards were presented. The Dyson College Faculty Excellence in Scholarship Awards was presented by Associate Dean Richard Schlesinger, PhD, to Reza Afshari, PhD, History, Sergey Kazakov, PhD, Chemistry, and Nancy Reagin, PhD, Women’s & Gender Studies. The annual award is given to Dyson faculty who have shown exemplary performance in research/scholarship/creative works by producing scholarly or artistic work of high merit during the prior academic year.

The Charles H. Dyson Award was presented to senior Nichole LeFebvre a dual English Literature and American Studies major. This award is presented to the graduating Fellow who most exemplifies the ideals of the Society. Ms. Lefebvre is the recipient of two previous Dyson Society of Fellows Award for work she presented at the Society’s Annual Meeting in 2009 and 2010.

Find out more about joining the Dyson Society of Fellows.