AAN Meeting

Dean Feldman and Professor Lewenson are Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing; of the nation’s approximately 3 million registered nurses, fewer than 2,000 are fellows.  Fellows are recognized leaders in education, management, practice and research. Invitation to Fellowship is more than recognition of one's accomplishments within the nursing profession. Academy Fellows also have a responsibility to contribute their time and energies to the Academy, and to engage with other health care leaders outside the Academy in transforming America's health care system.









Professor Sonenberg presented research entitled “The Role of Nurse Practitioners in Reframing & Reforming State Regulatory Policy” at the AAN conference.  Other members of her research team include Joyce Pulcini, PhD, PNP-BC, FAAN, FAANP (George Washington University) and Hillary Knepper, M.P.A., PhD  from the MPA program at Pace.  This is an inter-disciplinary and inter-collegiate research team. Professor Sonenberg is pictured here with Joyce Pulcini, PhD, PNP-BC, FAAN, FAANP.






Professor Lewenson presented a poster titled, Marguerite C. Holmes:  Transformative Leader of the Hunter-Bellevue School of Nursing in New York City, 1960s -1970s.  The photo shows her in front of her poster with Hunter-Bellevue alumni, faculty, and the Dean of the school.  From left to right: Elizabeth Ayello, PhD, RN, FAAN, Donna Nickitas, PhD, RN, FAAN, Sandy Lewenson, EdD, RN, FAAN, Shawn Kennedy, MA, RN (Editor of the American Journal of Nursing), and Hunter-Bellevue Dean Gail McCain, PhD, RN, FAAN.






This photo shows Professors Sonenberg and Lewenson in front of Professor Sonenberg’s research poster.