main navigation
my pace

Current Students

back to Current Students

You Know You Wanna See PPA (NYC)

News Story

Pace School of Performing Arts students are ready to wow you with not one, but two upcoming musicals performed in repertory. “Bernarda Alba” and “See What I Wanna See” start their takeover of Shaeberle on September 30.

Do you see what we see? A whole lot of talent hitting the stage as Pace School of Performing Arts students come together to bring the work of Michael John LaChiusa to life. Two of LaChiusa’s musicals, Bernarda Alba and See What I Wanna See, will run in repertory beginning on Wednesday September 30 through Saturday, October 10, at the Shaeberle Studio Theatre, located on the 10th floor of 41 Park Row.

Bernarda Alba
Bernarda Alba is a one-act musical with music, lyrics, and book by Michael John LaChiusa, based on Federico García Lorca's 1936 play The House of Bernarda Alba. Bernarda Alba tells the story of a controlling, newly widowed mother who is challenged by her five rebellious daughters. Directed by 10-time Tony Award nominee Graciela Daniele, with music direction by Joel Waggoner.

Performances will be held on:
Wednesday, September 30 | 7:30 p.m.
Friday, October 2 | 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, October 4 | 2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, October 6 | 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 8 | 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 10 | 7:30 p.m.

Student tickets are $5 and available for purchase here.

See What I Wanna See
See What I Wanna See is a musical by Michael John LaChiusa based on three short stories by Ryunosuke Akutagawa. The show is told in three parts: Medieval Japan, 1950s NYC, and post 9/11 NYC. Playing multiple roles, each character foils it's predecessor and searches for the ultimate truth. Directed by Bob Cline, with music direction by Max Mamon.

Performances will be held on:
Thursday, October 1 |  7:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 3 | 2:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Monday, October 5 | 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, October 7 | 7:30 p.m.
Friday, October 9 | 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, October 10 | 2:00 p.m.

Student tickets are $5 and available for purchase here.

Menu