main navigation
my pace
New York Faculty Council

Admissions and Retention

As stated in the NYFC Constitution, the duties and membership of the admissions and retention committee consist of the following:

a) The Committee on Admissions and Retention shall be composed of the following:

  • 15 elected voting members of the NYFC;
  • Members of the admissions and program infrastructures of the University as determined by the NYFC, as non-voting members.

b) The duties of the Committee on Admissions and Retention are:

  • To make recommendations to the NYFC on admissions and retention;
  • To consult with the staff of the Department of Enrollment Management and Dean for Students concerning unusual conditions that may arise regarding admissions and retention;
  • To act in an advisory capacity to the Admissions Office, especially to ensure that appropriate admissions standards are maintained;
  • To oversee and advise on retention initiatives;
  • To nominate NYFC representatives, chosen from the membership of this committee, to campus or university-wide admissions or retention advisory committees.
  • Allocated: 15 members and 2 alternates
  • Currently has: 15 members and 2 alternates
  • Committee chair: Gerald Ardito
  • Committee members: (Fall, 2013-Spring 2015)
  • Sarah Blackwood (English)
  • Anne Bynoe (Economics)
  • Canan Corus (Marketing)
  • Shamita Dutta-Gupta (Mathematics)
  • Lisa Farber (Art)
  • Casey Frid (Management and Management Science)
  • Linda Herritt (Art)
  • Marisa Isaacson (Biology and Health Sciences)
  • Anthony Joseph (Computer Science)
  • Marcy Kelly (Biology and Health Sciences)
  • Eddis Miller (Philosophy and Religious Studies)
  • Bill Offutt (History)
  • Raquel Plotka (Education)
  • Ipshita Ray (Marketing)
  • Kate Richardson (Management and Management Science)
  • 1st Alternate: Ying Wang (Modern Languages and Cultures)
  • 2nd Alternate: Gerald Ardito (Education)

Materials for April, 2008 meeting:

Materials for December, 2007 meeting: