Professor Lewenson Wins Prestigious McManus Medal

Dr. Sandy Lewenson recently received the prestigious R. Louise McManus Medal. The award, the highest honor bestowed by the Teachers College, Columbia University Nursing Education Alumni Association, was given to Sandy for her long and distinguished service to the nursing profession.

This photo shows her with Robin Goodrich and Robert Piemonte.

Dr. Lewenson joins an impressive list of notable nurses who are former recipients of the McManus Award such as Stella Goostray, Lucile Petry Leone, Mildred Montag, Martha Rogers, Hildegard Peplau, Eleanor Lambertson, Margaret McClure, Lucille Joel, Diane Mancino, Virginia Henderson, Nettie Birnback, M. Louise Fitzpatrick, Robert Piemonte, Faye Abdullah and Cathryn Welch among many others. All of these nurses exerted a lasting impact on the profession.