main navigation
my pace
Human Resources

Special Awards

2018 Employee Recognition Special Award Categories and Descriptions

STAR Award

Individual and/or Team – Faculty, Adjunct or Staff Member(s)

This Presidential award is given to a staff or faculty member (or a team) for an initiative, program and/or service that leads to increased enrollment, student success, retention and/or persistence to graduation.


  • Address a specific retention need, whether University-wide or campus/cohort specific.
  • Identify measurable outcomes.
  • Use resources creatively.
  • Demonstrate originality.

University Faculty Awards for Distinguished Service

Individual and/or Team - Faculty/Adjunct Member(s) Only

Awarded for distinguished and lasting service to the University consistent with its mission and in pursuit of the strategic goal of advancing the academic programs during the 2017 - 2018 academic year. The faculty member(s) must have a demonstrated track record in actively participating in the various forums of school -based or University-wide governance and service structures. Consideration will be given to faculty whose efforts have enhanced the learning /working environment or student retention efforts.


  • Demonstrate extraordinary initiative in strengthening the student academic experience, their school or the University.
  • Develop robust University Centers for Excellence.
  • Contribute to the attainment of the University’s mission and any of the strategic goals.

Student Advisor Award

Individual – Faculty, Adjunct or Staff* Member

Awarded to faculty members who perform their advising responsibilities with distinction and show evidence of effective advising among students and colleagues.


  • Model high standards of ethics in advising, mentoring and in all other interactions with students.
  • Assist students with establishing realistic goals and objectives and encourage students to be responsible, proactive learners.
  • Participate in various student focused programs such as college/school events and programs, student development and campus activities, residence halls, student organizations and learning communities.
  • Demonstrate knowledge of the university, departments, community programs and resources as well as connects students to them, where appropriate.

*Staff members with student advising duties are eligible.

Diversity Leadership Award

Individual and/or Team – Faculty, Adjunct or Staff Member(s)

Awarded to an individual or team that has demonstrated outstanding best practices and commitment to diversity which has resulted in enrichment of the learning or work environment during the 2017 - 2018 academic year. The diversity definition reaches beyond race/ethnicity/nationality, to include the cultures of gender, gender identity, poverty, violence, differing abilities and aging and including initiatives on inclusion, social justice, community building and empowerment, mentoring, scholarly endeavors.


  • Promote a campus environment that is welcoming, supportive and nurturing of cultural, ethnic, racial, class, gender, sexual orientation, language and other human differences.
  • Help recognize those who fulfill Pace University’s obligation to promote an environment and society characterized by inclusiveness and acceptance.
  • Display leadership in fostering diversity on campus and/or the surrounding community.
  • Raise the general awareness and consciousness about diversity issues within the context of the University’s mission and for the greater good of the campus community.

Staff Performance Awards

These awards present an opportunity to link outstanding performance to the achievement of the University’s Mission and Strategic goals. Staff recognized in the categories below will have contributed to improvements in University life and community in one or more of the following ways:

  1. Enhance the learning and working environments.
  2. Implement the service ethic and integrate the objectives of the Strategic Plan in everyday work.
  3. Establish and consistently use clear metrics to evaluate and strengthen the University’s programs, activities and services.
  4. Redesign and improve business processes.

The awards are in two major categories:

President’s Award for Staff Excellence in Leadership

Individual and/or Team – Staff Only

Awarded to individuals or teams whose accomplishments have a significant and lasting impact on the University’s pursuit of excellence in achieving its mission and Strategic Goals. The President’s Award for Excellence will be given to a staff member or a team which has demonstrated strong leadership skills throughout the year, has served as a role model and has promoted the goals of the Strategic Plan through actions and job performance.


  • Participate on committees, mentoring others, serving as a role model, and/or using originality and creativity to enthusiastically and collaboratively develop strategies that enhance his/her department.
  • Support the University's goals by improving and/or modernizing current practices.
  • Positively affect other aspects of the department’s role in the University and/or the community.

*There will be one award recipient per location, New York City and Westchester.

Individuals nominated in this category who are not selected will automatically be considered for the Outstanding Contribution Award described below.

Outstanding Staff Contribution Awards

Individual and/or Team – Staff Only

Awarded to individuals or teams whose commitment to the values and goals of the Strategic Plan has enhanced the University’s learning and working environment. The following values that guide Pace’s specific goals and activities stand as categories for these awards Excellence and continuous innovation, Independent thinking, Diversity, Professionalism and the highest standards.


  • Consistently and clearly surpass performance requirements of his/her position.
  • Exhibit a high level of leadership and cooperation in working with students, other employees, and the general public.
  • Creates a positive work environment and enhances the image of the department.