Nursing students working in the simulation lab

Nursing Honor Society

Sigma: Connected, Empowered Nurse Leaders Transforming Global Healthcare

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma) is known worldwide for its recognition of outstanding achievement in nursing. It was founded in 1922 by six nurses at Indiana University. The mission of Sigma is to develop nurse leaders anywhere to improve healthcare everywhere. Sigma recognizes the value of scholarship and excellence in nursing practice. Members of Sigma enjoy opportunities for education, leadership, career development, evidence-based nursing, research, and scholarship.

The Lienhard School of Nursing is affiliated with the Omega Delta Chapter of Sigma. Candidates for membership are selected based on superior scholastic achievement. Undergraduates more than halfway through their nursing program and in the upper 35% of their class or graduate students a quarter of the way through the master's program with a 3.5 CQPA or higher are eligible. Outstanding community leaders in nursing are also eligible. Student standing is reviewed by the chapter’s faculty counselor and eligible students are invited by email to join Sigma. Email invitations are sent each fall and an induction ceremony is held at the end of the semester.

For further information, please email Dr. Stephanie Allen, Chapter President.