In Memoriam

Mourning a Legend

James LiptonPace University and the Actors Studio Drama School mourn the loss of James Lipton, the creator and dean of the program from 1994–2004, the dean emeritus from 2005 to today, as well as the original host of television’s Inside the Actors Studio. “James Lipton was a great writer and actor, a great interviewer, and,  most important, a great teacher. He was a revered leader of the Actors Studio Drama School at Pace University, and we are all deeply saddened by this loss. We send our condolences to his wife, Kedakai, and we know that his legacy will live on in the generations of actors he inspired,” said Pace University President Marvin Krislov.

Honoring a Dear Friend

Debbie LevesquePace University staff, students, and faculty mourn the loss of our tremendously beloved and esteemed colleague Debbie Levesque, assistant dean for Community Standards and Compliance. Levesque dedicated nearly 40 years of her life to Pace—always working to support students and colleagues, always on the move, and always willing to help whenever anyone needed a hand or a hug.

One colleague spoke of her commitment and deep love of the University and its community: “I saw Debbie’s passion and leadership during Hurricane Sandy—choosing to ride out the storm here on campus with us. From her I learned to always put the needs of my staff and students above all else.”

We hope to come together once again as a community this fall on Pace’s Pleasantville Campus to celebrate her life and the lasting impact she’s made on all of us.

Remembering Joseph Lizzio ’75

Joseph LizzioPace University mourns the loss of former University comptroller and alumnus Joseph M. Lizzio ’75. He served as a corporal in the US Army during the Korean War, later attending Pace University where he earned his MBA from the Lubin School of Business. After graduation, Lizzio joined the Pace administrative team, serving as the University Comptroller for more than 25 years. During his time as comptroller, Lizzio was one of the founders and board members of what is now Pace’s Academic Federal Credit Union.\

“He worked long and hard for Pace University, providing strong financial leadership, during a time when Pace was growing from a two-campus college to a multi-campus university. Joe had a wonderful, self-deprecating sense of humor and he was an avid photographer and golfer,” says Ron Nahum ’75, ’81, a former Pace colleague and fellow alumnus. “His love for Pace was only exceeded by his love for his family.”  

Walter J. Adams ’84
Glenn E. Albro ’49
Michael N. Alekshun ’91
William B. Allin ’76
Ruth A. Alston ’83
Brendan F. Alworth ’70
Steve C. Arniotes ’52
Peter A. Bacinski ’71
Thomas J. Ballen ’79
Alfred R. Barsotti ’51
August J. Bellome ’92
Louis C. Bicknese ’49
John H. Bilello ’66
Josephine Blanchett
Carmen C. Bocachica ’81
Beth A. Bove ’83
Stephen J. Brady ’83
Lynne V. Byrne ’88
Marie T. Byrne ’52
Richard A. Calvo ’70
Philip A. Cammarano ’63
Robert K. Caulk ’71
Dorothy H. Cimino ’75
Robert J. Clark ’68
Ronald J. Cococcia ’94
Robert J. Cotter ’75
Eugene F. Cronin ’51
Harry V. Cunningham ’51
Ida E. Daggett
Kathleen A. D’Agostino ’71
Andrew R. Dalessio ’14
Jerry D. Dancer ’72
Margaret M. Dannevig ’82
Robert F. Di Lello ’57
Glenn P. Donaldson ’69
Caroline J. Doyle ’88

Joseph A. Dubato ’52
Donald A. Ehrgott ’50
Ronald E. Emerine ’76
Richard H. Epperlein ’63
Lynn Finkelstein ’80
Peter Fraedrich ’73
Alvera D. Fray ’75
Helane A. Friedman ’80
Gladys M. Froustet ’57
Bruce E. Fusillo ’74
Anthony P. Galimi ’70
Vincent F. Galvin ’05
Joseph Gancila ’91
Walter Gangloff ’59
Juan A. Garrandes ’75
Mildred Gerestant ’94
Edward D. Gibbons ’71
Rosemary M. Gille Crescenzo ’83
Louis E. Golia ’71
Martin Gorman ’51
James W. Greenwood ’73
Serge W. Gremmo ’72
Neil W. Groglio ’78
I. David Grossman ’50
Sr. Mary Joan Haley ’43
Beatrice A. Henningham ’07
Joseph E. Henry ’84
Robert E. Herrmann ’51
Edward B. Hirschberg ’60
Francis M. Huba ’49
Frances Hutton ’50
Martin Jaffe ’75
John Jarka ’82
Veronica D. Joyce ’75
Ashley Kardian-Caggiano ’12

Ellinor Kasuga ’49
Christopher P. Kelts ’95
Charles Kirkiles ’50
Jeffrey Kitter ’77
Richard A. Kuntzman ’52
Eli Kwartler ’52
Willie Lau ’66
Veronica L. Layer-Keefe ’95
Gene F. Lee ’82
David Lieberman ’50
Kelly L. Lindenboom ’14
Timothy M. Lorch ’86
James K. Lyder ’95
Donald J. Mahler ’49
Alan J. Mandle ’68
Frederick C. Marasco ’00
Faith A. Martin ’91
Rose C. Mason ’82
Ella B. Mathews ’70
George McCarthy ’72
Roseanne C. McConville ’83
James R. McGurran
Thomas M. McKenna ’72
Vincent C. Milatta ’73
Michaelle Myrthil-Labranche ’92
Gabriel P. Nasser ’79
Zanib Naveed ’11
George Negas ’57
Anne M. Nichter ’80
Martin R. O’Meara ’79
Melvin Ostrow ’77
Irene Pagh ’42
Wilhelmina Parker ’77
Jacob Perillo ’13
John R. Pezzulli ’68

Ira D. Popkin ’68
Frank Quattrone ’81
Sr. Virginia Rahilly ’57
Donald Rassaert ’80
Richard E. Reynolds ’67
Stephen Rosmarin ’51
Charles Rupprecht ’56
Rosemary Rutherford ’89
Paul F. Ruzicka ’74
Mohamed A. Saleh ’77
William H. Sandholm ’68
Henry E. Sauter ’49
Nicholas Scalzo ’95
Robert Schauer ’56
Angelo J. Scott ’56
Semo P. Sennas ’70
Stephen H. Shapoff ’67
Floyd A. Smith ’51
Michael L. Smith ’73
Enid Storey ’87
Sharon M. Sutton ’87
Wayne T. Tanchak ’81
Sr. Joan H. Toomey ’74
George L. Ulrich ’50
Hal J. Upbin ’61
Myles H. Walburn ’89
James P. Walsh ’56
John Walton ’93
Dorothy F. Watson ’82
Vincent Webberly ’60
Joy Ann Weber ’86
Stephen J. Weber ’74
Djerizza Weisz ’98
Stanley Wexler ’84
Robert Wilkie ’78
Dale C. Wright ’72