Pace International student in front of a row of world flags

SEVP Covid-19 Temporary Flexibilities Terminated

Following the end of the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency effective May 11, 2023, the Student and Exchange Visitor Program (SEVP) ended its COVID-19-related flexibilities, as expected. This guidance had temporarily allowed international students to take more than one online and hybrid courses during the pandemic. Continuing student can benefit from the flexibilities through the 2023 summer sessions (end of 2022-23 AY), but not after that. With the beginning of the fall 2023 semester, you must comply with remote learning regulatory limit: only one 3-credited online course per semester may count towards the student's full-time status as part of your full course load. The remainder of classes will need to be in person. This will apply to both new and continuing students.

Please note: if you are enrolled in one remaining course at your last semester of study it must be in-person.

Students who are currently studying remotely in the home country must return to the U.S. by the beginning of fall semester to continue the degree study in-person.

Please review the FAQ for SEVP Stakeholders Post-COVID-19 (PDF) which has been updated on May 11, 2023.

Update on Change to U.S. Travel Policy Requiring Covid-19 Vaccination for Nonimmigrant Travel

Last Updated: May 4, 2023 | View the statement on the State Department website

"The Administration will end the COVID-19 vaccine requirements for international air travelers at the end of the day on May 11, the same day that the COVID-19 public health emergency ends. This means starting May 12, noncitizen nonimmigrant air passengers will no longer need to show proof of being fully vaccinated with an accepted COVID-19 vaccine to board a flight to the United States. CDC’s Amended Order Implementing Presidential Proclamation on Safe Resumption of Global Travel During the COVID-19 Pandemic will no longer be in effect when the Presidential Proclamation Advancing the Safe Resumption of Global Travel During the COVID-19 Pandemic is revoked."