Choate House on the Pace Pleasantville campus

Employee Recognition Special Awards

President’s Award for Outstanding Contribution

Individual and/or Team - FT & PT Faculty/Staff


  • Develop an initiative, program and/or service that leads to increased enrollment, student success, retention and/or persistence to graduation.
  • Demonstrate an extraordinary initiative in strengthening the student academic experience.
  • Model high standards of ethics in advising, mentoring and interacting with students.
  • Consistently promote a campus environment that is inclusive, welcoming, supportive and nurturing of cultural, ethnic, racial, class, gender, sexual orientation, language and other human differences.
  • Support the University’s strategic goals by improving and/or modernizing current practices resulting in a measurable gain in efficiency, effectiveness or service.
  • Participate on committees, mentor others, serve as a role model and/or use originality and creativity to enthusiastically and collaboratively develop strategies.
  • Make a significant contribution to the wellness and well-being of Pace faculty and staff.
  • Complete a special accomplishment within your division/unit.

2020 Employee Special Award Winners

President’s Award for Outstanding Contribution Individual

  • Susan Flaum, Adjunct Faculty, College of Health Professions
  • Jolina Halloran,  Honors College Academic Advisor, Pforzheimer Honors College
  • Aisha Moyla, AVP, Facilities and Capital Projects
  • Eileen Murphy, Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Advisement, Centralized Advising
  • Laurice Nemetz, Adjunct Faculty, Physical Education
  • Rosemarie Scilipoti, Director of Undergraduate Advisement, Lubin
  • Mark Stephens, University Director of Financial Aid

President’s Award for Outstanding Contribution Team

Office of Academic Technology

  • Beth Gordon, AVP, IT Academic/Administrative Services
  • Christopher Alice, Sr. Academic Technologist
  • John Blackwell, Senior Manager, Academic Technology
  • Jessica Ready-Jackson, Senior Academic Technologist

Center for Community Action and Research

  • Heather Novak, Interim Director, Center for Community Action and Research
  • Erin Mysogland, Program Coordinator
  • NYC Student Assistants: Chloe Hwang, Britney Peralta, Samadi Tavarez, Erin Wilson and Marisa Medici
  • Pleasantville Student Assistants: Julie Bazile, Shaniya Francis and Noelani Rivera

COVID Task Force

  • Brian Anderson, Director, Emergency Management and Environmental Health and Safety
  • Horace Anderson, Dean, Elisabeth Haub School of Law
  • Mary Baglivo, CMO and Vice President for University Relations
  • Bernadette Baumann, Senior Director, Employee/Labor Relations, Title IX Investigator
  • Vincent Beatty, Executive Director, Safety and Security
  • Marie Boster, AVP, Public Affairs
  • Stephen Brodsky, University Counsel
  • Karen Buckwald, Director, Human Resources Initiatives
  • Joseph Capparelli, Vice President and Controller
  • Rachel Carpenter, Interim Dean for Students
  • Geraldine Colombraro, Associate Dean, College of Health Professions
  • Alyssa Cressotti, Director, Communications and Digital Engagement
  • Angie D’Agostino, Dean for Students, Elisabeth Haub School of Law
  • Paul Dampier, CIO and Vice President for Information Technology
  • Harriet R. Feldman, Dean, College of Health Professions
  • Angelica Ferreira, AVP, Budget and Planning
  • Leila Franchi, AVP, Marketing and Communications
  • Jean Gallagher, Vice President, Strategy and Partnerships
  • Cindy Heilberger, Chief of Staff, Office of the President
  • Marcy Kelly, Professor, Biology, Fall Reopening Community Group Rep
  • Hillary J. Knepper, Interim Associate Provost for Student Success
  • Karen Martin, Part-Time Paraprofessional, University Health Care, PLV Campus
  • Aisha Moyla, AVP, Facilities and Capital Projects
  • Tom Murray, Executive Director of Conference/Event Services
  • Richard Myers, Executive Director, Risk and Compliance
  • Jesse Oxfeld, Senior Advisor for Communications
  • Vanya Quiñones, Provost/EVP for Academic Affairs
  • Matt Renna, Vice President, Human Resources
  • Robina Schepp, Vice President, Enrollment Management
  • Rachana Shah, Director, Government and Community Relations
  • Todd Smith-Bergollo, Assistant Dean for Students
  • Barry Stinson, AVP for International Programs and Services
  • Nicole Thompson, Vice President, Administrative Operations
  • Jacqueline Tortorella, Assistant Director of Marketing and Account Management
  • Lisa Valentino, Associate University Counsel
  • Joan Walker, Interim Assistant Provost for Academic Affairs
  • Michael Winn, Associate Athletic Director
  • Ibi Yolas, Vice President, Facilities and Capital Projects

YES I Make It Happen Annual Winners

  • Alexandra Aviles, Administrative Assistant, Psychological Services Center, New York City
  • Irwin Narayan, Operations Supervisor, Educational Media, Westchester
  • Peggy Gorel, Student Assistant, Student Affairs, Westchester
  • Aida Kolar, Student Assistant, Lubin Undergraduate Academic Advisement, New York City

A Special Thanks to the 2020 Special Awards Nomination Committee Members:

  • Marcus Braga Alves, Associate Professor, Finance & Economics New York, Lubin School of Business
  • Liza Bell, Administrative Coordinator, Provost/EVP Academic Affairs
  • Beth Buls, Senior Compensation Analyst, Compensation & Benefits, Human Resources
  • Purnima Deshwal, Student Assistant, Talent Acquisition, Human Resources
  • Elizabeth LuongoSenior Staff Associate, School of Education Westchester
  • Jennifer Rosenstein, Library Director/New York, University Library
  • John Sassano, Senior Budget Analyst, Office of Budget & Planning, Finance & Administration